“Do it Later”

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.”

Ephesians 5:15-17 ESV

I didn’t realize how often I say to myself:

“Do it Later.”

Its mostly regarding small everyday occurrences: washing the the dishes after a meal, cleaning up toys after playing outside with the kids or scattering my art supplies all over the kitchen counter.

My “do it laters” almost always become piled up at the end of the day and more often than not remain unfinished until (very) much later.

I have become especially reflective and almost hyper-aware of the physical changing of seasons and mentally moving out of one generation of my life and transitioning to the next. I’ve found myself saying very often in conversations with family and friends “I am or ‘we are’ the ‘old people’ now.”

I am proud to be part of the last generation to grow up before computers and without cell phones. Before it became the cultural norm to share very specific and intimate details about our lives on social media.

As I embark on a new season in life I hope to replace my “do it later” attitude with “do it now” opportunities and prioritize the most important areas in my life and where I should be investing my time, thoughts and energy.

As the time continues to speed along I am doing my best to share my artwork as often as I can while learning to balance and figure out which rhythms and routines are best to help me take care of my children and family.

“Gray hair is a crown of glory; it is gained in a righteous life.” Proverbs 16:31 ESV

One thought on ““Do it Later”

  1. I’m enjoying catching up on your blog, having found links to each one in some hidden section of my email. The pictures are my favorite, but the whole thing encouraging. Thank you. ❤

    Like

Leave a comment